2012–2013 Alumni News & Events

Commemorative T-Shirt Competition

The Alumni Advisory Board's Communications Committee launched the "Psychology Commemorative T-shirt Competition" at the beginning of the 2012 spring semester. We asked our undergraduate majors to design a T-shirt that reflected positively on the Department and University. We would like to acknowledge Janice Ng, a 1st year Psychology major, for her input on the design.

Our May 2012 graduating class of seniors and doctoral degree candidates received the Commemorative Psychology T-shirt as a gift from the Department. The Department will display pictures of our T-shirt recipients, "Psychology Wearabouts" in our Alumni News & Events section and on our Facebook page, "University of Illinois Psychology Department." You can send your pictures to Ryan Leskis, Stewardship & Alumni Relations Coordinator, rleskis@illinois.edu.

The Commemorative T-shirt will also be presented as a gift to alumni who participate in events such as our 2013 Career Information Night, and other select activities that support Department initiatives. We hope to have some pictures up soon for you to view. Please join us--it should be fun and interesting!!

Fall 2012 Lyle Lanier Lecture

Dr. Stephen J. Suomi will be the featured speaker for the Department of Psychology’s Lanier Lecture on Thursday, September 20, 2012, 8:00 p.m., Lincoln Hall Theater.


2012 SIOP Reunion

Professor Fritz Drasgow organized a reception for I/O alumni, current students, and colleagues at the 27th annual SIOP Conference held in San Diego, CA.

View the Photo Album

National Association of Social Work Public Citizen of the Year Award

The Honorable Jeffrey Ford (B.S.'73; J.D.'76) received the National Association of Social Work (NASW) Public Citizen of the Year Award on April 11, 2013 in Washington, DC. NASW annually recognizes outstanding social workers and also a public citizen whose accomplishment exemplify the mission of professional social work. You can view the award video here.


2013 Career Information Night

(Pictured) foreground: Gale Stafford greets a student; background: Katie Vigil



Alumni Panel Members L-R: Leanna Garcia, Dr. James Leonard, Carrie Grady, and The Honorable Jeffrey Ford
background: Katie Vigil; foreground L-R: Alicia Brannon, Denise Dallmier Burger
students attending the panel discussion


Related Topics